We’ve all done it. Two seconds after you hit send, you realize you replied to everyone on an email string instead of just one person.
Google knows you’ve done it, too, and after seeing thousands of its users search “how to unsend an email” it has released its solution to the world’s most dreaded email problem.
The “Undo Send” feature that is now available to all Gmail users that have updated to the latest version. To get to it, you’ll need to go into the Settings menu under their profile picture and look for the “Enable Undo Send” option. Upon enabling it, you can customize the cancellation period for five, 10, 20 or 30 seconds. Once turned on, the sent notification will ask you if you’d like to undo the message.
While this feature doesn’t give you the ability to delete a message from someone’s inbox, it does give you a few seconds to change a message before it is sent, read and shared.
So the next time you type “there” instead of “their”, you’ll have the ability to make the edit before the email ends up in your manager’s inbox.
Would you be interested in a Stellar Workshop all about leveraging Google Business Applications? Submit your name and email address below – If we get 10 or more submissions we will add the class to our workshop schedule!